Nasarawa Assembly constitutes 24 house-standing committees


Lafia, Nasarawa

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly has constituted the chairmen, members and Secretaries of its 24 Standing Committees to conduct the affairs of the legislature.

The Speaker of the House, Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi, who unveiled the names of members of the committees in Lafia on Monday, urged them to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

The speaker also urged the committee members not to compromise while performing their oversight functions.

“We have been sworn in for two or close to three months now, hence the need for the constitution of this Standing Committees to pilot the affairs of the House.

“I urge you to live above board while discharging your duties

“We must protect the integrity of this institution by ensuring that right things are done for the advantage of our people,” he said.

He said that the rules and business committee is to be chaired by Mr  Daniel Ogazi, the Judiciary Committee Chairman is to be headed by Barr. Esson Mairiga, Women Affairs by by Hajara Danyaro.

The Public complaints and Petition committee is to be chaired by Mr  Luka Iliya Zhekaba, the Minority Leader of the House, while, Mr Danladi Jatau, the Deputy Majority Leader, is to head the committee on Education.

Mr  Mohammed Isimbabi is to chair the Youth and Sports committee while Housing and Environment is to be chaired by Mr Mohammed Omadefu, the Majority Leader of the House.

Similarly, the committee on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) is to be chaired by Hon Onarigu Onah Kana, Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs by Mr  Musa Ibrahim Abu, the Nasarawa State Independent Electoral Commission (NASIEC) is to be headed by Mr Jacob Kudu.

Others are the committee on Works and Transport, to be chaired by Hon Suleiman Yakubu Azara, Information Committee, chaired by Hon John Ali, Finance and Appropriation is to be chaired by Hon Hudu A Hudu, the Chairman, House committee on Land is Mr Emmanuel Manding, Me Solomon Akwashiki is to chair the committee on Public Account, Health committee is to be chaired by Mr Larry Ven Bawa, Nasarawa State Urban Development Board (NUDB) is to be chaired by Mr Musa Gude.

Furthermore, Agriculture committee is to be chaired by Dr Peter Akwe, Ovey John is to chair Water Resources committee while Capital Market, Commerce and Industry committee is to be chaired by Mr Mohammed Onyaki.

The House Welfare committee chairman is Mr Aliyu  Chunbaya, committee on Pilgrims is to be chaired by Alhaji Ibrahim Aliyu-Nana, Projects Monitoring is to be headed by the Deputy Speaker, Mr Abel Bala, and Selection and Appointments committee is to be chaired by Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi, the Speaker of the House.

The speaker further urged them to start preparing for their various oversight functions in order to assess the level of the 2023 budget performance of ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs).

He wished them well in their committee works.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here